Buying my son his first Tool/Knife

English: A multi-purpose pocket knife with all...

English: A multi-purpose pocket knife with all the blades visible (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I want my son to know that we acknowledge that he is growing up and to celebrate it we decided to get him a pocket knife. Which turned into a multi-tool because the pocket knives all looked really sharp and were about 5 inches long at Wal-Mart.  So just like the Berlin Wall a big NO from my girlfriend, till we saw a Winchester Multi-Tool.

I don’t know much about brands except Gerber, Bear Grylls and Black and Decker, but not much about toughness of tools. The only thing I really know about tools is that you get what you pay for, buy a quality tool and you only have to buy it once.  But in this case it’s not the brand of tool but more the act of relieving  the tool. Maybe even in his head its more of an understanding that he is becoming a man.

An award for getting older. We got the idea from the Boy Scouts who give merit badges for completing little mile stones. Which we might also be getting him into after we try him out at Cub Scouts. We plan to as soon as we move either the end of this month or the beginning of next month for school.

It is kind of scary watching him pull out the 3 inch knife and little saws that come with it. We showed him how sharp it is by letting him touch it with his palm so that he knows it’s not a toy. But like most kids he wont learn until he either stabs himself or cuts himself, and that’s why we carry around band aids.

Multi-tool and Compass

Multi-tool and Compass

It is kind of scary watching him pull out the 3 inch knife and little saws that come with it. But you can see on his face that he loves it.

Any suggestions for other awards/ milestone rewards to give him would be great.

One thought on “Buying my son his first Tool/Knife

  1. Love it, Robert! A boy’s first knife is a great right-of-passage into growing into a man! I still remember my daddy giving me my first knife. The expression on my face was similar to your son’s.
    Keep doing the stuff, my friend!
    Todd

Leave a Reply

