No Job Equals Less of a Man

I wonder if it’s just me who feels like half a man? I have a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration but no job. It isn’t like I’m not getting interviews either. I’ve probably been on 10 in the last 2 months. Suited up, practiced and even studied some of the openings so I could have a leg up during the interviews. And I’m pretty sure I’m not bombing it on the interviews either.

You might even say it’s because of place but I’m not living in a big city but thirty thousand isn’t just a small town either. It’s rated one of the best small towns to live in the USA, ranked #5. Maybe its a numbers game? 100 jobs in a city of 30,000 looks good but 100 jobs in 3,000,000 looks like a crap shot. Am I wrong though, should I be having better luck finding a job?Charlie Jobs

This non stop going and interviewing and still not coming up with a job is putting some weight on my shoulders that I try not to show my family. But at times it feels like I can’t support my family and it cuts to the bone. I feel as though I can’t ask for any time off, or time to hang out with an acquaintance.

I want to leave my kids a great example to follow as a man but not being able to find a job is a huge disappointing example. The father/man I had raise me always had a job. Whether it be warehouse work or construction work. He even had a job as a drug dealer until he was no longer around. This is who I based my understandings of being a father on. 

Now he did have some positive attributes but he also had some really bad ones. I am a strong believer in that you will never know that fire burns until you touch it. Using that train of thought, I could only see how crappy of a father he was until after. I can tell where he was wrong and where he was right about certain aspects of life. Him always having a job or creating one is a trait I would like to pass on to my kids.

Yes, this is kind of sexist way of thinking but I would like to make some money to make my girlfriend feel like I can give her things. Even though she’s not that kind of woman, I still wouldn’t mind splurging and buying her a nice thing once in a while. I do a lot of planning ahead for the kids also, so that they aren’t without anything.

I tried to make this a happy post but it is what it is.

If you have any suggestions for me to help me get out of this rut let me know in the comments. Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

